Investiture Ceremonies held at Rashtrapati Bhavan

Every year two major Investiture Ceremonies are held at Rashtrapati Bhavan, the Civil Investiture Ceremony and the Defence Investiture Ceremony.

In the Civil Investiture Ceremony, the President of India awards the Bharat Ratna and Padma Awards. Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian Award of India. It was instituted in the year 1954 and is awarded in recognition of exceptional service/performance of the highest order in any field of human endeavour. The Padma Awards includes the Padma Vibhushan for exceptional and distinguished service, Padma Bhushan for distinguished service of a high order and the Padma Shri for distinguished service. The Padma Awards were also instituted in the year 1954. The Civil Investiture ceremony is held in two parts due to large number of awardees. Ministry of Home Affairs is the nodal Ministry in this regard.

In the Defence Investiture Ceremony, the President of India awards Gallantry and Service medals to Defence personnel. Gallantry Awards include the Kirti Chakra & Shaurya Chakra for gallantry action of the Defence personnel, members of paramilitary forces or any civilian personnel. Service Medals include the Param Vishisht Seva Medal, Uttam Yudh Seva Medal & Ati Vishisht Seva Medal, conferred by the President to the Defence personnel. The Defence Investiture Ceremony is also held in two parts each year. The nodal Ministry for these awards is the Ministry of Defence.

Previous Next
Back to Top Back to Top